RejZoR’s OpenAL Generic Fixer

1 07 2008

RejZoR, the mighty Guru, has provided all of us Creative victims with a handly little tool. The tool solves a number of OpenAL issues that Creative never bothered to address (probably never noticed). Respect most high to the sheep-like one. You might want to add RejZor’s blog to your favourites too…

OpenAL Generic Fixer 1.0 released!

I’ve made this tool to solve some of OpenAL issues. OpenAL is an open audio subsystem that has replaced old DirectSound (starting with Windows Vista). Most of new games use it to utilize hardware accelerated sound and special effects like EAX Advanced HD.
But when things go wrong, it’s usually because of either very old OpenAL libraries, corrupted OpenAL files or something similar. This tool deletes old files, automatically downloads latest OpenAL installer and executes it. It should be easy enough for anyone to at least try to solve sound related problems without extensive help from tech support or the geeks around

Oh and don’t forget to update your audio drivers if you haven’t already!

Situations where this tool might help:
– no sound in games
– sound is skipping or has bad delay
– cannot enable Hardware Acceleration in games
– cannot enable EAX audio effects
– when games crash with error “OpenAL32.dll cannot be found” or something similar

Download: OpenAL Generic Fixer.zip

Works for me!


Actions

Information

2 responses

12 08 2009
Neil Moore

I was hoping this would solve my problem with ut2004, but it didn’t. I am using Windows 7 32bit and I own a creative X-Fi Fatal1ty Platinum. I tried installing the beta driver and it didn’t fix my problem.

The problem I’m having is a delay. If I disable the driver in the game, sound doesn’t have a delay but because of this, there are pops and clicks. The pops and clicks I can live with but it sure would be nice if I didn’t have them.😦

14 10 2015
Camping Fred's Shack

Aw, this was a really nice post. Spending some time
and actual effort to make a top notch article… but what can I say…
I procrastinate a whole lot and don’t manage to get anything done.

Leave a Reply

